Beginning

“making a decision was only the beginning of things. When someone makes a decision, he is really diving into a strong current that will carry him to places he had never dreamed of when he first made the decision.”
— Paulo Coelho (The Alchemist)

It’s roughly a month before we (my girl from Ipanema and I) are moving to Rio. I thought about waiting to start this until I arrived there but then I rethought it and came to the conclusion that now is as good as time as any. I’m an American whose only trip out of the country so far was to Canada before they required passports at the border. I took Spanish, French and Latin in school but before I met my girl from Ipanema I had no idea what made Portuguese different or what it sounded like when spoken. I only knew that Brazilians spoke it and not Spanish, were good at soccer, danced in the streets with elaborate costumes during Carnival and that there was a large statue of Christ in Rio de Janeiro. I know a little bit more now but only things I’ve learned from books, her, websites, movies and blogs. I’ve yet to have the firsthand experience. As the days get closer I’m nervous, eager, scared and a whole host of emotions I’m not sure how to classify or even name. Once while reading posts on an expats in Brazil, forum I came across a post in which an American man was telling his experiences of marrying a Brazilian and going back with her. He said that one day they went to Wal-mart and she wanted everything. I laughed at the time I read it but now and especially recently on the 4th I find myself wanting to buy more and more to take. I look at the prices of some things like electronics online in Brazil and I’m shocked. I also have a growing need to buy things with stars and stripes on them. I don’t think I’ve ever bought a shirt with an American flag on it but now there seems to be a feeling that I need one… I need several of everything. So begins my journey in blog form.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

