Yeah man, that’s the good stuff.

“If more of us valued food and cheer and song above hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world.”- J.R.R. Tolkien

Shortly after we arrived at our new home we began one of my most favorite activities so far in Brasil, eating. This food, trust me, is something to sing and cheer about. I’m somewhat of a picky eater and as I’ve grown older in many ways I’ve become more and more finicky about my food choices. Having been here now almost a month, I can honestly say there were only a couple of things I didn’t like and that the rest I have absolutely loved. There have been really odd combinations of food I wouldn’t have touched before but now find myself craving. One example is eggplant pizza. I worried how pizza would be in Brasil. I had heard bad things. There was talk of odd combinations and the sauce to pizza ratio not being quite right. Well, I have to completely and utterly disagree with the naysayers… except maybe on the egg pizza or the little pieces of ham with egg (I’m not really a fan). Eggplant pizza was one of the most delicious things I’ve ever tasted in my life and the sauce was perfect. Actually, in the US when we’d order pizza we’d always say easy on the sauce because I can’t really stomach too much of it. I think it’s a little acidic. The Brazilians, at least the Cariocas and I seem to be on the same page. I could barely find any sauce at all on the pizza. At home when we’d make our own pizzas in the US I didn’t even use sauce. Instead, I coated the bread with olive oil, then the cheese and then toppings. Brazilians also seem to love olive oil…

Olive Oil on a table in a restaurant


But I digress, the first day I arrived and entered the marvelous world of Brazilian food was (I’m tearing up a little) like a food dream come true. It was feijoada with beans, rice, farofa (), hot sauce,a salt (I was amazed by for days until I finally looked up what aipo meant only to find out that this new exotic wonder was in fact celery salt) and carne seca and a salad. The desert was equally amazing to me. It was pumpkin made into a kind of jam and served with pieces of minas cheese. My love of minas cheese () also began that day.

Yum! Minas

To top it all off we had coffee in little cups which is called cafezinho (little coffee). To be honest, I love my huge American supersized mugs to drink coffee. I love coffee… but here since I seem to drink it almost all day long and it’s a stronger coffee, the little cups after lunch have grown on me. My stomach was very happy that day and has continued to be quite satisfied since.

3 thoughts on “Yeah man, that’s the good stuff.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

