Fejoada

So, I’ve been reading the blog, Born Again Brazilian a lot lately. It’s a great blog with frequent (sometimes more than one a day) blogs about the author’s experiences with all things Brazilian. Today, I also stumbled across this, The Daily Post at WordPress. Both of these things combined made me realize what a lazy slacker blogger I am. I’m not going to pledge to do a blog a day because I’m a notoriously bad one a dayer. I’ll start something, go along with gusto for a week or so and then just stop. I wish things were different but I’m going to embrace my shortcomings and move forward. I promise to try to write daily…we’ll see…

Today’s topic is:

Fejoada

20120411-125557.jpg

Fejoada is a meal that is considered by many to be the national dish of Brazil. It also happens to be one of my personal favorites. Originating in Portugal, fejoada has developed it’s own South American way. Thanks in part to additions or variations made during the slavery era in Brazil, today you can find fejoada cooked and served in a variety of ways. It, however, always consists of some type of beans stewed with meat and served with rice. The beans can be black, red, white or pinto and the meat they are cooked with can vary from sausage to ribs, salted pork, jerked beef or any combination of said meats. What the beans and meat are served with other than rice also varies depending on location, time and day. You may find it with couve (fried collard greens), farofa, orange slices, pork rinds, a little bowl of hot peppers in oil and/or cachaça.

My favorite fejoada is black beans (I love love love black beans and no other bean will do for me) stewed with sausage and served with rice, couve fried with garlic, lots of farofa, pork rinds and the little bowl of peppers (just spoon out the oil not the peppers…unless you have a death wish).
I have never tried it with orange slices, although I had the opportunity to a couple of weeks ago nor have I had it with cachaça.
Hmmm, now I’ve made myself hungry. I’m going to wrap this up for now and go have lunch. If you haven’t had a proper fejoada, I highly recommend it. Here’s wishing you all happy eats.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

