Brazil, The Cereal Killer

Since I’ve been talking about milk in Brazil and things to do with it, now seems as good a time as any to discuss cereal. Becky mentioned brigadeiros yesterday in a comment and it was then that I was reminded of this:

20120419-152656.jpg

It’s a limited edition flavor of Sucrilhos (and yes, that is Brazilian Tony the Tiger there and yes, they are grrrrreat). This picture was taken couple of months ago so I’m not sure if they’re still available now. What I do know is, that they did a pretty good job of making it similar to the real brigadeiro experience. It even had little chocolate sprinkles.
Cereal, unfortunately, doesn’t seem to be as popular here in Brazil as it was back in the states. There’s no aisle at the mercado of cartoon faces and 50 different varieties of puffed, flaked and/or shredded corn or wheat stretching out into infinity…and beyond. The best selection of cereal that I’ve seen so far is at Zona Sul but even they only have a dozen or so different varieties at best. It doesn’t even take up a whole aisle (insert frowny face here). Sigh, if you haven’t guessed, I love cereal. However, it is more expensive here, and to me it seems like you get a lot less in the box. To be honest, it’s really not enough bang for my Real but that has yet to stop me from sampling as many as possible.

In closing, I’ll give a quick rundown of what I know of the cereal scene (what little there is) so far:

Sucrilhos (Kellogg’s)- the regular sugar coated flakes (Frosted Flakes) are ok but I prefer the chocolate ones. The best Sucrilhos for me are the puffed chocolate ones. They are as cuckoo inducing as Cocoa Puffs.

Snow Flakes (Nestle)- I prefer these to regular Sucrilhos. The flakes are a little thicker and so they don’t get soggy as quick. They make them chocolate flavored as well but I’ve yet to have the pleasure.

CRUNCH (Nestle)- It’s crunchy, chocolately and overall ok.

Nescau (Nestle)- Chocolate puffs that I’m not as cuckoo for.

Super Balls- I can’t help but giggle every time I see this in the store (I’ll take a picture soon). Forgive me please. They are the same as Nescau, little chocolate puffs, but actually I like them better. Scurilhos (puffs) still win my grand prize, though.

There is also granola and a couple of varieties of healthier options. At the moment I can’t remember the one I tried. My mind is at the chocolate factory I think, sorry.
Ok, I’m off the have a bowl of cereal. Sure, it’s not quite the same with no Pink Hearts, Yellow Moons, Orange Stars, Green Clovers or anything really magically delicious but …it will do.

6 thoughts on “Brazil, The Cereal Killer

  1. hahahha I had the same problem (as well as my husband) upon moving to Brazil. We are both cereal feens and the price difference kills us. Sometimes I buy a box, just to have around for special occasions, but for my husband, those special occasions seem to be three times day and the box is empty before I can blink, thus, I do not purchase cereal unless I am in the mood at that MOMENT (and I have found a good place to hide the stash….particularly behind the rice hahahhaha!) I haven’t found that the lack of selections was a problem here in Rondônia, at least in Ji-Paraná. Every competent grocery store has a ton of selections that stretch down at least half the aisle (usually with dry milk and the Toddy and Nescaus to finish off the aisle). It is, however, RIDICULOUSLY expensive, sometimes over 10 reais for a box. Yep, thank you, I’ll pass.

    One thing that is a great alternative (and cheaper, and healthier) is natural granola. Everyone seems to be on a granola kick here and I can get fresh made granola at fairs and at grocery stores! MmmMmmMm!

  2. Granola is great. We did buy that at first when we arrived and refused to pay 12 reais for a small box of Crunch. I should go back to that. The prices and the sizes of cereal really shocked me at first….well they still do. Lately they’ve been having a sale of two boxes of Snow Flakes and a plastic bowl for 10 reais at Extra. So we’ve been indulging. I am the one MGFI has to hide the cereal from hahaha. I could take down a box in one sitting if left unwatched hahaha.

  3. Hi! I really hope you can help me. I work w/ an American theater company and am heading down to Brasil text week for a project. We do a skit w/ breakfast cereal here in the states, and I’m desperately trying to figure out what type of crunchy cereal would read as iconic and humorous down there to a Brasilian audience. Of course, I think Super Balls is hilarious, but is that just the American in me? I’m really in a jam and trying to make an informed desicion. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    • Hi Stacy. Thank you for stopping by! I’ll try to help but the problem is, I’m not sure that any cereal is really iconic here. Cereal doesnt seem to be as popular here as it is in America. Does your skit have to use milk and cereal? Does it have to be sweet and crunchy? If the answer is no to either, I have a couple of cereal substitutes:

      Brigadeiros – (mentioned in other comments in this thread) Brazilian children and adults love these. There can be little crunchy sprinkles on the top … But they’re like little cakes and not crunchy at all really. So…I don’t know if that would work but it does fit the iconic category.

      Bis- these are fat chocolate covered wafers. Think thick Kit Kats or small nutty buddies without the nutty. Also very popular.

      • In terms of salty iconic crunchy there are –

        Globo biscuitos – http://www.flickr.com/photos/27864415@N03/4900080362/
        Very iconic for Brazil…at least Rio. You can get them on the beach, from street vendors on buses when people are selling them…they’re everywhere. Not much taste, of you ask me but they grow on you and are very crunchy.

        As far as cereal…. Scurilhos seem to be the most popular but as I said, cereal itself doesn’t seem to be that popular. It’s really expensive here and there aren’t three thousand commericals for it on Saturday mornings.

        As an America, my childhood memories often seem to include cereal. Toucan Sam, Captian Crunch, Lucy, Snap, Crackle and Pop…etc. were my buddies.

        Maybe here because cereal wasn’t overly commercialized, there doesn’t seem to be the same kind of fond reminiscing about grains in milk.

        What part of Brazil are you coming to is there going to be a public show?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

