São Jorge

We were in Barra da Tijuca the past two days because MGFI had a three day holiday weekend. It was Dia de São Jorge yesterday. To be honest, I really didn’t know much about the day. I wasn’t raised Catholic so I’m not that familiar with the saints. All I knew about Dia de São Jorge was that people dressed in red, not everyone got the day off but schools were closed and that we were stuck in the bus in traffic for an half hour waiting for a procession to pass and fireworks to finish. What little I knew about Saint George (São Jorge) was that he was the dragon slayer and I guessed that people wore red because of his red cross but that was only a guess.

20120424-102201.jpg
Fireworks as seen out the bus window (Yes, I know this is not my best work…)

20120424-095808.jpg
Procession for São Jorge.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

