I Spy: McDonald’s Happy Meal Box

20120506-164309.jpg

Last night we attended a two year old’s birthday party at a McDonalds in Niterói. With half a dozen children at the party plus the many more enjoying the playground, it was chaotic to say the least. I attempted to center myself by looking at the different offerings/ combinations on the menu and the different names for the Mackie D meals I knew. You can call this my Pulp Fiction moment…

Vincent: Yeah, baby, you’d dig it the most. But you know what the funniest thing about Europe is?
Jules: What?
Vincent: It’s the little differences. I mean, they got the same s*** over there that we got here, but it’s just…it’s just, there it’s a little different.
Jules: Example?
Vincent: All right. Well, you can walk into a movie theater in Amsterdam and buy a beer. And I don’t mean just like in no paper cup; I’m talking about a glass of beer. And in Paris, you can buy a beer at McDonald’s. And you know what they call a Quarter Pounder with Cheese in Paris?
Jules: They don’t call it a Quarter Pounder with Cheese?
Vincent: Nah, man, they got the metric system. They wouldn’t know what the f*** a Quarter Pounder is.
Jules: What do they call it?
Vincent: They call it a “Royale with Cheese.”
Jules: “Royale with Cheese.”
Vincent: That’s right.
Jules: What do they call a Big Mac?
Vincent: A Big Mac’s a Big Mac, but they call it “Le Big Mac.”
Jules: [in mock French accent] “Le Big Mac.” [laughs] What do they call a Whopper?
Vincent: I don’t know, I didn’t go in a Burger King.

Here a Quarter Pounder is Quarteirão Com Queijo (even though they do use the metric system … I will post about my frustration with that later) and a Big Mac is a Big Mac…but pronounced Biggie Mackie (add e’s on the ends on the words). Like Vincent, I don’t go in a Burger King (which, by the way, is now owned by Brazilians) or haven’t yet while I’ve been in Brazil.
Another little difference that I found funny, is that in America, McDonald’s slogan is “I’m lovin’ it”, while here it’s “amo muito tudo isso”, which literally translates to “I’m really loving all of this”. This doesn’t really seem as catchy to me nor could I see it as a Justin Timerlake song.

Anyway, for more about the global economics of the Big Mac see The Atlantic’s article- Big Maconomics: How McDonald’s Explains the World and The Economist’s 2012 Big Mac Index. These are both really fascinating articles and the overvalued Brazilian Real is almost front and center. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

