Obama 2012

It’s official, I’m in!

If you’re a regular reader of my blog, you have probably noticed drips from my liberal bleeding heart partially saturating my posts but you might also have taken note that I’ve had several issues with some of the Obama administration’s policies (it should be single payer, universal healthcare for one).

Well, something happened today that brought me to happy tears.

Obama Says Same-Sex Marriage Should be Legal

“I have to tell you that over the course of several years as I have talked to friends and family and neighbors when I think about members of my own staff who are in incredibly committed monogamous relationships, same-sex relationships, who are raising kids together, when I think about those soldiers or airmen or marines or sailors who are out there fighting on my behalf and yet feel constrained, even now that Don’t Ask Don’t Tell is gone, because they are not able to commit themselves in a marriage, at a certain point I’ve just concluded that for me personally it is important for me to go ahead and affirm that I think same sex couples should be able to get married.”- President Obama

I didn’t think he’d do it preelection,if at all, but thankfully he proved me wrong.

Thank you Mr. President. I’m in.

If anyone knows of a Demorcratic group of American expats in Rio or the surrounding area or any way I can help from here, please let me know. Thank you.

2 thoughts on “Obama 2012

  1. I personally am totally indifferent on the issue of same sex marriage. I say if the majority of the voting age residents of any given state are in favor of it, then it should be a legal option in that state. I wonder though, if the proponents of it, and especially individuals who actually want to enter into a same sex marriage, have thought this thing all the way through. I don’t have any hard statistics, but it is my observation and my strong opinion that same sex relationships break up at a higher frequency than opposite sex relationships. I can tell you or anyone for that matter, that ending a marriage is a major MAJOR hassle, even in the easiest case scenario. Doing so requires the involvement of various levels of government agencies, to whom the splittors have to basically divulge everything about their lives, most notably their complete financial picture. Are the benefits really worth all of the potential costs, most notably the loss of privacy and so many freedoms?

    • Hi Charles. Thank you for commenting. In response to the question you ended your comment with; yes I think it is all worth it. I feel I can speak on this because I am actually a married lesbian ( in the US in a state where it is legal and civil unioned here in Brazil). I haven’t really gone into that here but  if you’ll notice my name is Cthegringa and the Brazilian I’m in love with is MGFI- My Girl from Ipanema. Actually I’ve been a little intentionally  omissive because maybe I do want people to guess wrong and then have to rethink some of their assumptions. I wanted an everyday blog and not a different category like two lesbians in Brazil. I guess I wanted equality. I think that’s what a lot of other American homosexuals want as well. I can only speak for myself of course, but for me I want the same rights to marry and have a possible horrific mess as everyone else has. 

      I can’t quote statistics either but last time I heard, heterosexual relationships aren’t doing so well in terms of durability either. The more important thing is that marriage isn’t just a word or a ceremony. There are a lot of rights that come along with it.  A lot of things that heterosexual couples might, at times, take for granted…hospital visitations, next of kin consents, joint taxes and tax breaks, ablitlity to sponsor your spouse for a green card,  employers that also provide healthcare for spoues, SS widow’s benefits and estate transferal after death in some states.  

      I used to be more for civil unions. I thought, well, if it bothers some people for religious reasons to call it marriage then a civil union is fine but only if there are the same equal rights. I no longer feel that way. I don’t think there should be a separate term. I feel that is a new type of segregation. 

      In terms of leaving things up to the states…I hear you on that argument but that hasnt always worked throughout US history. I think basic civil rights really aren’t things that need to be voted on to allow for others.  But …they are at the moment and I’m afraid that certain states would be slow, if ever, to change. In that case, it might be easy to say that the homosexuals in that state should simply relocate but not everyone has the means to do that nor would they want to leave their families and homes. Also if we did leave it to the states to decide, DOMA – http://thomas.loc.gov/cgi-bin/query/z?c104:H.R.3396.ENR:, is a federal law and trumps any decisions by any state so….

      Listen, I don’t think the things President Obama said were anything other than words at that moment. But they were very important words that I’ve been waiting most of my life to hear a sitting President of the United States say. I don’t know what changes if any will come from it but it was great that it was said. 

      Finally I want to say that I really do appreciate your comment. I think me and people like me just want the same chances. We want the choice to make a complicated privacy mess or not and to try to be with someone we love in sickness and health, for better or worse til death do us part. Some of us don’t take that seriously. Some heterosexuals don’t either. We just want a chance to try, I think. That’s all. 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

